I will fight for disability rights — Senator

She lost her left leg during a car accident and now uses a pair of crutches to maintain balance while doing her household and other chores.Senior man on wheelchair, rear view-814552

BY VENERANDA LANGA

However, disability did not discourage her from achieving what most Zimbabweans would dream of – to become a teacher and later a Member of Parliament.

Born 42 years ago at Musume Mission Hospital in Mberengwa, Senator representing people living with disabilities Annah Shiri was born able bodied and never thought she would one day be called a disabled person until fate struck in 1993 when she was knocked down by a car in Gweru.

“I was hit by a car while standing at a bus stop in Mambo, Gweru, with more than 15 other people. It was drizzling and the driver of the vehicle failed to negotiate a curve and hit me. I was dragged for several metres before the car eventually stopped and I sustained multiple fractures, the worst injuries being on the left leg,” Shiri said narrating her ordeal which led to her disability.

Shiri said she was lucky to be alive because as her almost lifeless body lay on the road an ambulance passed by and she was quickly rushed to Gweru General Hospital.

“Actually Gweru Times the following morning carried a story that I had died on the spot, but I thank God I survived, but spent months in hospital.

“The injuries on my left leg failed to get healed and maggots and pus started to develop to the extent the doctors suggested that it had to be amputated. After amputation, that is when I became a disabled person.”

Shiri said disability was not easy to accept and her situation was made better because she underwent counselling sessions before amputation.

“My family members cried, but I was comfortable with being amputated as I was in so much pain and needed relief. Counselling is very essential because it is difficult for family members to accept that one of theirs has suddenly become disabled,” she said.

After completing high school education, Shiri went to study at Mkoba Teacher’s College in 1995.

“Before training as a teacher I did voluntary work at the National Council for Disabled Persons in Zimbabwe in Gweru. I enrolled at Mkoba Teacher’s College in 1996, but the Principal at first was reluctant to enrol me saying it would be difficult for me to cope due to the disability. He said the library and hostels were upstairs. I said I was determined and got the place,” she narrated.

Shiri said her story might not be unique, but she wanted all Zimbabweans to understand that disability could happen to anyone at any time and in different ways.
“I have a positive attitude about my disability and I used to let people joke about it. I can cook very well and do everything that any woman can do. I am married to Clifford Chiyengerere and have two daughters. I can put on makeup and look good like any other woman, and I can drive using only one leg,” she said glowingly.

“From 1999 until I was elected senator to represent the disabled constituency, I was a teacher at Shabanie Mines Primary School.”

In August, Shiri was elected by 90 members of different organisations of people living with disabilities to represent them in Senate together with another senator Nyamayabo Mashavakure.

“The passion which I exhibited fighting for the rights of people living with disabilities got me the Senate seat. I am not going to be there to warm the benches, but will fight it out during debates. My constituents, who are people living with disabilities, need to be involved in agriculture like everyone. I am going to advocate for free agricultural inputs for them and drought relief programmes targeting the under-priviledged,” she said.

She said she felt very saddened by the fact that most buildings in the country were inaccessible to people living with disabilities.

“Town planning should encompass construction of roads and buildings in such a manner that they are accessible to people with disabilities. I feel disturbed that my constituency (disabled) have no access to information. They cannot read newspapers in Braille and most personnel institutions like the police and health facilities are unable to communicate in sign language. I want to advocate for the inclusion of an interpreter at every district or provincial hospital or police station so that the deaf and dumb can also be heard,” she said.

Shiri said sexual abuse inflicted on deaf and dumb people was rife because people took advantage of the fact that it would be difficult for them to prove the cases.
She also lamented that people living with disabilities had no access to aids like crutches, wheelchairs, and so on.

“One thing I would like to push before Parliament is that the 2014 budget should include an allocation to help disabled people acquire different aids like albino lotions, hearing aids, cane glasses for the blind, walking sticks and wheelchairs. I use crutches and they cost $45 a pair. If one does not have a vehicle — I am lucky to have one — those rubbers wear out fast. The rubbers on the crutches cost $6 per pair and how many people living with disabilities can afford that?” she said.

During debate in Parliament on the 2014 budget, Shiri said priority areas for her constituency were access to health and education.

Summing up the interview with NewsDay, Shiri urged Zimbabweans to desist from having negative attitudes towards people living with disabilities.

“My ordeal when I got hit by a car proves that anyone is susceptible to disability. The attitude towards the disabled in Zimbabwe is very bad. There are many challenges they face when looking for jobs. Disabled women are looked down upon by men when it comes to marriage. There is a lot of discrimination, but although I am disabled, I can wash clothes, I have given birth and I have my own unique way of doing things,” Shiri said.

 

OTHER STORIES:

 

* Grace Mugabe’s son reported for gold theft
* Local government ministry orders destruction of 10,000 homes
* Komichi trial: State closes case
* Zimbabwe cracks whip on Chinese
* Zimbabweans feel the pinch

 

Please click here to sign a petition calling for the voters roll, in its proper, searchable, analysable, electronic form to be released, and for all sealed records to be released of who voted, where they voted, and who helped whom, and who got turned away.

Zimbabwe deserves transparency!

Source: News Day Zimbabwe

Join the discussion, leave a reply: